Maybe, but it shouldn’t have been.
If you’re unfamiliar with the subject, during the break between the first and second overtime periods in the DEN-BAL game Raven’s kicker Justin Tucker went onto the field and took a practice kick. There was debate over whether it was legal to do so. Our trustworthy and knowledgable announcers from CBS steadfastly maintained that Tucker had done nothing wrong. I disagree. NFL Rule 4, Article 1, Section 2 clearly states:
Article 2 There will be intervals of at least two minutes between the first and second periods (first half) and between the third and fourth periods (second half). During these intermissions all playing rules continue in force, and no representative of either team shall enter the field unless he is an incoming substitute, or a team attendant or trainer, entering to see to the welfare of a player.
Penalty: For illegally entering the field: Loss of 15 yards from the succeeding spot (13-1-6-Pen.).
I get that the rule states quarters but one would think the interpretation has to extend to the intermission between OT periods since they’re essentially the same as a quarter where upon the end of the period, the teams switch sides and resume play instead of going to halftime or the game ending. So even if the practice kick wasn’t illegal, it should absolutely contribute to a closing of a loophole in the rule. Contrary to some TV personalities’ beliefs, the rules clearly set forth a penalty for this infraction of 15 yards. There’s no way to know for sure whether 15 yards would have changed this game, but we should’ve found out.